U.S. Senator Katie Britt Calls For Senate Passage of SHIP Act

November 17, 2023

WASHINGTON, D.C., November 17, 2023 – U.S. Senator Katie Britt (R-Ala.) is urging the United States Senate to take up and pass the bipartisan Stop Harboring Iranian Petroleum (SHIP) Act.

This legislation would sanction illicit purchases of Iranian oil and hold the regime’s enablers accountable, and comes as Iranian oil sales to China’s genocidal regime continue to fund the Ayatollah’s ability to repress Iranian protestors and finance its terrorist proxies like Hamas and Hezbollah.

Senator Britt recently joined Senator Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and 27 of their Senate colleagues in introducing the Senate version of the SHIP Act, and the U.S. House of Representatives passed the companion version of the bill in an overwhelming 342-69 vote earlier this month.

“It is simply common sense to hold accountable the world’s largest state sponsor of terrorism for financing barbaric atrocities that kill Americans and our allies. However, the Biden Administration continues its dangerous strategy of appeasement to the grave detriment of our national security both here at home and abroad,” said Senator Britt. “Since President Biden took office, Iran has profited nearly $80 billion from oil sales alone, enhancing the ability of the regime in Tehran to fund more terrorism against innocent children, women, and men. The only pathway to peace is through unwavering American strength. I’m glad to see the U.S. House pass this important legislation in a bipartisan manner, and I urge Senator Schumer to bring the Senate version to the floor for consideration with all due haste.”

Joining Senators Britt and Rubio in cosponsoring the SHIP Act are Senators Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), John Hoeven (R-N.Dak.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), John Thune (R-S.Dak.), Deb Fischer (R-Nebr.), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-N.Dak.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebr.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), and Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.).

The text of the bill can be found here.