U.S. Senator Katie Britt, Colleagues Successfully Challenge Harmful Biden Administration Rules

April 11, 2024

WASHINGTOND.C., April 11, 2024 — U.S. Senator Katie Britt (R-Ala.) voted this week in favor of two Congressional Review Act (CRA) joint resolutions of disapproval. She is a cosponsor of both measures.

“In every corner of our nation, the Biden Administration seeks to impose far-reaching and unnecessary regulations on hardworking Americans,” said Senator Britt. “These overly burdensome rules are blatant evidence of a partisan political agenda being prioritized over 21st-century job creation and economic growth. With the passage of both joint resolutions by the Senate in bipartisan votes, it’s clear this Administration lacks the support and consensus to move forward with these reckless rulemakings. Both of these rules, among many others across the current red tape regime, should be rescinded immediately. I will continue to fight against this White House’s attempts to impose a far-left agenda on American families, small businesses, and industries.”

The first joint resolution, introduced by Senator Kevin Cramer (R-N.Dak.) in the Senate, would nullify the U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) November 2023 greenhouse gas finalized rule. This rule would force state departments of transportation and metropolitan planning organizations to measure greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions on the highway system and set declining targets, despite lacking any authority from Congress to do so.

This joint resolution passed the Senate yesterday on a bipartisan basis by a vote of 53 to 47 and now heads to the House for consideration.

In addition to Senators Britt and Cramer, additional cosponsors include Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Senators Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.),  John Thune (R-S.Dak.), John Hoeven (R-N.Dak.), Roger Marshall (R-Kans.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebr.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Nebr.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Mike Rounds (R-S.Dak.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Jerry Moran (R-Kans.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), and Rand Paul (R-Ky.).

The text of the joint resolution can be found here.

Additionally, Senator Britt voted in favor of Senator Bill Cassidy’s (R-La.) joint resolution to overturn the National Labor Relations Board’s (NLRB) joint employer rule, which would cripple small businesses in numerous sectors by exposing them to frivolous litigation, eliminating jobs, and slowing wage growth across the country – just like it did when a similar standard was implemented in 2015.

This joint resolution passed the Senate yesterday on a bipartisan basis by a vote of 50 to 48 and now heads to the President’s desk, having already passed the House.

Cosponsors of this resolution, in addition to Senators Britt and Cassidy, include Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Senators Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Roger Marshall (R-Kans.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.Dak.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), James Risch (R-Idaho), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Jerry Moran (R-Kans.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebr.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), John Thune (R-S.Dak.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), John Hoeven (R-N.Dak.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Deb Fischer (R-Nebr.), Mike Rounds (R-S.Dak.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), and Ted Cruz (R-Texas).

The text of the joint resolution can be found here.

Senator Britt is additionally a cosponsor of Senator Tim Scott’s (R-S.C.) Employee Rights Act, which would codify protections for small, local business by reaffirming that two or more employers must have “actual, direct, and immediate” control over employees to be considered joint employers under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).