U.S. Senator Katie Britt Joins Colleagues in Celebrating FFA’s Nationwide Impact

February 22, 2024

WASHINGTOND.C., February 22, 2024 — U.S. Senator Katie Britt (R-Ala.) recently joined Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Chris Coons (D-Del.) along with a bipartisan group of 53 of their colleagues in introducing a Senate resolution establishing February 17-24, 2024, as National FFA Week.

The resolution, which passed the Senate unanimously, highlights the important role of the National FFA Organization in developing the next generation of leaders by providing educational and career opportunities to students. The resolution also celebrates the 10th anniversary of the “Give the Gift of Blue” program, which has donated more than 17,000 of the iconic FFA blue jackets to FFA members in need.

“I am always proud to fight for and celebrate Alabama’s incredible farmers, who feed and clothe our state, nation, and world,” said Senator Britt. “FFA empowers young people across America to take up the torch and become the next generation of farmers and cattlemen, as well as leaders in their local communities. The FFA’s mission is critical, because food security is national security. I will continue to support agriculture education and research initiatives that strengthen Alabama’s and America’s future.”

“National FFA Week is a meaningful week for members across our country as we celebrate an organization that is welcoming to all and crucial to developing the next generation of leaders and those who will fill the ever-growing need in the talent pipeline,” said National FFA Advisor Dr. Travis Park. “Not only is it an opportunity to share our message with a broader audience, but it’s also an opportunity for our FFA chapters and members to celebrate agriculture and agricultural education while thanking their supporters — their local alumni and supporters chapters, agriculture teachers, or local businesses.”

In addition to Senators Britt, Young, and Coons, Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.Dak.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), John Hoeven (R-N.Dak.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kans.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebr.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), John Thune (R-S.Dak.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) also cosponsored the resolution.

U.S. Representative Tracey Mann (R-KS-01) introduced a companion resolution in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The full text of the resolution can be found here.