U.S. Senators Katie Britt, Ted Cruz, Colleagues Introduce Legislation to Strike Down Biden Natural Gas Tax

May 29, 2024

WASHINGTON, D.C., May 29, 2024 — U.S. Senator Katie Britt (R-Ala.) this week joined Senator Ted Cruz (R-Tex.) and 10 of their colleagues in introducing legislation to repeal the Natural Gas Tax enacted in the Biden Administration’s so-called Inflation Reduction Act (IRA). This tax would raise costs for energy customers and burden American families already struggling with persistently high inflation.

The Natural Gas Tax Repeal Act, which would eliminate this new methane emissions fee created by the IRA, was originally introduced by Representative August Pfluger (R-Texas-11) in the U.S. House of the Representatives and passed earlier this year as a part of H.R. 1023, the Cutting Green Corruption and Taxes Act.

“As this Administration wages its war on American energy, I will continue to work alongside my colleagues to ensure our domestic energy producers aren’t strangled by President Biden’s red tape regime. For the past three years, this Administration has been intent on prioritizing its irresponsible, partisan Green New Deal Agenda, ultimately weakening our national and economic security. It’s past time to unleash not just U.S. energy independence, but energy dominance,” said Senator Britt.

“Joe Biden and Biden officials have proven time and time again that they care more about their radical climate agenda the needs of the American people. They have driven up inflation and jeopardized American jobs and energy security, all of which would be made significantly worse by the methane emissions fee in the Inflation Reduction Act. This fee will particularly harm Texas by undermining producers in the Permian Basin and across the state,” said Senator Cruz.

Senators Britt and Cruz were joined by Senators Roger Marshall (R-Kans.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebr.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Hoeven (R-N.Dak.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) in introducing the legislation.

The text of the bill can be found here.