WASHINGTON, D.C., February 10, 2023 – Senator Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), and 15 of their colleagues reintroduced the Protecting Our Wealth of Energy Resources (POWER) Act to prohibit the president or his secretaries of the Interior, Agriculture or Energy from blocking energy or mineral leasing and permitting on federal lands and waters without Congressional approval.

“A strong, resilient economy is quite literally fueled by American energy independence and dominance,” said Senator Britt. “If the Biden Administration continues to prioritize its radical Green New Deal agenda at the expense of affordable, reliable energy for hardworking American families and small businesses, Congress must force the President’s hand.”

“Wyoming can power the nation, and the U.S. can power the world. President Biden’s executive orders and administrative actions taking aim at energy and mineral development on public lands hurt our economy, communities across the west and the environment by forcing our nation to rely on countries with lower environmental standards for importing energy,” stated Senator Lummis. “We have borne witness to the negative impacts of these policies through record high gas prices and increased prices on goods and services we rely on every day. Not to mention, these efforts are illegal. It is time for Congress to take back its authority and to unleash American energy and mineral potential.”

Senators Britt and Lummis were joined by Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Hoeven (R-S.D.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) in cosponsoring the legislation.

Congresswoman Harriet Hageman introduced the House companion to the legislation.