U.S. Senator Katie Britt Joins Bipartisan Delegation to Normandy for 80th D-Day Anniversary

June 5, 2024

WASHINGTON, D.C., June 5, 2024 – U.S. Senator Katie Britt (R-Ala.) today announced that she departed for an official congressional trip as part of a bipartisan Senate delegation traveling to Normandy, France, to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the D-Day landing by Allied forces during World War II.

The delegation, led by Senators John Boozman (R-Ark.) and Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), will arrive in Normandy on Thursday, June 6, and join American and French leaders and veterans at a ceremony at the American Cemetery of Colleville-sur-Mer. The Senators will also meet with World War II veterans and pay their respects at the Normandy American Cemetery and Memorial. Later that day, members of the delegation will join heads of state representing Allied partners at an international ceremony at Omaha Beach in Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer.

“I’m proud to be in France to commemorate this historic anniversary and honor the valiant Americans who courageously stormed the beaches of Normandy 80 years ago,” said Senator Britt. “We must never forget that the liberties, opportunities, and rights the Greatest Generation fought to preserve came at a tremendous cost. We are the Land of the Free because of the brave, and I’m deeply grateful to have this opportunity to express the enduring appreciation, admiration, and awe of our great state and nation.”

In addition to Senators Britt, Boozman, and Blumenthal, the delegation includes Senators Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Joe Manchin (I-W.Va.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Ted Cruz (R-Tex.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), and Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.).

Senator Britt is also a cosponsor of a bipartisan resolution commemorating the 80th Anniversary of D-Day and expressing gratitude and appreciation to the members of the U.S. Armed Forces and Allied troops responsible for carrying out this unprecedented maneuver that proved decisive in securing victory in Europe. The resolution, led by Senators Boozman and Chris Coons (D-Del.), unanimously passed the Senate yesterday.